After twenty two years in the Royal Navy and eight working in the  NHS, both involving Security and Investigations, I was diagnosed with chronic PTSD and co-morbid depression and anxiety just over two years ago in 2014.

This was after several harrowing years during which I had a couple of breakdowns and in typical alpha male fashion, I ignored.  The result of that inability to recognise the problems and a severe lack of understanding on both my part and the civilian medical profession led to a further breakdown and my eventually self referring to a veteran’s charity called Combat Stress.

I won’t bore you with the details, but part of my recovery journey was rediscovering my love of photography and the realisation that when I have a camera in my hands, I am able to function relatively well in open areas.  It is not a perfect solution and I still have major issues, but it is something I am able to feel comfortable doing.

As in “alpha male’ stereotypes, I was also fond of cars, in fact, while I have never had the good fortune to own a classic car or high end one, I love everything about them, driving has always been something that was fun, except when I am having a bad day and Mr angry decides to accompany me.

I have started this blog with the hope that I could combine two great interests and, with a bit of luck, I may be able to make a living from it with some lovely magazine editor deciding that the views of a dogeared veteran on the cars of today make for a unique perspective.

Over the coming weeks and months, I will try and cover a multitude of topics and where possible try and keep them relevant to both the ‘man on the street’ and the “Jezza” fans out there.

Watch this space!  please feel free to contact me to suggest issues that I could cover.

Si.

 

 

